Presentation of the scheme

The Grands Prix de la Création awards two professionals in each discipline: design, fashion and crafts.

The Grand Prix rewards a professional for the quality of his or her project and career path, development strategy, commitment to the transmission of know-how or innovation. This prize is aimed at experienced professionals, companies and brands whose development is well advanced.

The Emerging Talent Award recognises a professional with a promising project. The award is an encouragement.

The new Fashion Accessories Prize is awarded to emerging or established accessory projects (leather goods, shoes, gloves, belts, etc.).

An endowment of 18,000 euros is awarded to the winners. Each prize is endowed with 8,000 euros by the City of Paris and enriched via the Fonds pour les Ateliers de Paris by private partners: the Fédération Française du Prêt à Porter Féminin, ADC - Au-Delà du Cuir, the Galeries Lafayette Group, the Rémy Cointreau Foundation, ESMOD, Plendi by VINCI Construction, Roger Pradier, Victoire, and the Galia Group

In addition to the prize money, the winners will benefit from the visibility offered by the media partners and associates: Premiere Classe, Paris Design Week, Maison&Objet, Alliance France Design, Ipocamp, Intramuros, Fashion Network, AD Magazine, La Gazette Drouot, The Good Goods, Gestes, Process Magazine and Eyes on Talents

History

Paris has always been associated with creation. It was therefore only natural that the capital should have a distinction to honour this genius. Thus, in 1993, the Grand Prix de la Création de la Ville de Paris was born, an annual award for a talented creator.
From 2003 onwards, the Prize was expanded and now distinguishes three categories: crafts, fashion and design, and rewards, in each of them, a professional known as an emerging talent and an established one.

Since their creation, more than a hundred winners have been distinguished by the Grands Prix de la Création de la Ville de Paris. Many of them have become big names in these sectors, such as Ronan Bouroullec, Inga Sempé or more recently Ionna Vautrin and the 5.5 design studio for design; Pietro Seminelli, Tzuri Gueta, Sophie Dalla Rosa, Simone Pheulpin for arts and crafts and Yiqing Yin, Christine Phung, Julien Fournié, Sakina M'Sa or Valentine Gauthier for fashion.

Leading figures in fashion, design and crafts have also chaired the Grand Prix jury: Matali Crasset, Mathias Kiss, Hubert Barrière, India Mahdavi, Julien Fournié and, in 2021, Amélie Pichard, Laura Gonzales and Sam Baron.

The winners

Filter

The 2022 Jury Chairs

Each year, the juries are presided over by three well-known personalities from the creative professions.

FRANÇOIS AZAMBOURG - DESIGN JURY

What do you expect from the candidates for the Grand Prix and the Emerging Talent Award?

A total investment in environmental and/or societal issues, plastic and technical qualities.

A graduate of ENSAAMA in Paris, winner of the Villa Médicis hors les murs in 2003, of the Grand Prix du Design de Paris in 2004, of the Musée des Arts Décoratifs competition, and Creator of the Year at the Salon du Meuble-Paris in 2009, François Azambourg devotes his work to the alliance of techniques and art specific to the applied arts. His work, which is essentially focused on the search for lightness and economy of materials, has led to numerous patents and awards. His creations have been included in the collections of the FNAC, the Musée des Arts Décoratifs in Paris and the Centre Pompidou.

CHRISTINE PHUNG- FASHION JURY

Vincent Lappartient

Christine Phung is a French fashion designer and artistic director, who works with some of the biggest names in fashion. She won the Grand Prix de la Création de la Ville de Paris in 2011 and the "Premières Collections" prize from ANDAM in 2013. These stepping stones allowed her to develop her own creative universe with geometric, organic or architectural forms and crossed by the art of the motif. Through her drawings and her singular look at her surroundings, Christine Phung shapes her vision of fashion: "a perfect meeting of multiple skills" and of clothes: "a second skin chosen to present oneself to the world". A vibrantly sensitive requirement.

What do the Grands Prix de la Création mean to you? The Grands Prix de la Création bring together all these dimensions: the enthusiasm and energy linked to the discovery of new talents who will enrich our common artistic heritage, the influence of French crafts... They are the symbol of a solidarity and a dynamic around creativity, craftsmanship and know-how. They highlight and animate a community of creators that we all need!

LUDOVIC AVENEL - JURY CRAFTS

Ludovic Avenel was born in 1984. Trained at the Ecole Boulle, he became known as soon as he finished his studies in 2007 by obtaining the Bettencourt Schueller prize for the intelligence of the hand.
Since 2008, Ludovic Avenel has been based in the centre of the Faubourg Saint-Antoine in Paris. He combines creativity and know-how to create unique pieces or limited series of furniture for an international clientele. Between an artistic approach and a practice of design methodologies, he is part of a permanent search for beauty in all its forms.

What does it mean to you to chair the Grands Prix de la Création? It is an honour and a responsibility, and it is in a spirit of benevolence and harmony that I will be happy to share this moment with the candidates and members of the jury.

Call for applications

The call for applications is open every year in March. For more information, subscribe to our newsletter.

  • The competition is open to designers in the fields of design, fashion and craft who are over 18 years of age;
  • The competition is aimed at companies.
  • Candidates must have been in business for at least one year on the date of registration for the competition: (date of creation of the company or brand - Kbis or k extract, D1 extract for craftsmen). 
  • The professional activity of the candidates must be registered with the French tax authorities.
  • A candidate can only register for one of the three disciplines: design, fashion, crafts.
  • Winners of previous editions of the Grands Prix de la Création as well as candidates who were winners of a competition the previous year are excluded from participation.
  • Candidates must present pieces or projects that have not been awarded in another French or international competition.

The applications are first examined by the members of the previous year's jury, who select about ten candidates in each category.

The finalists are invited to come and present their work during an audition on 28 and 29 Junebefore a jury of experts (buyers, publishers, gallery owners, exhibition organisers, institutions, etc.) who will debate and choose the winners. before a jury of experts (buyers, publishers, gallery owners, exhibition organisers, institutions, etc.) who will debate and choose the winners.

The award ceremony will take place on 13 September 2022 at the Hôtel de Ville in Paris.

Need more information?

Contact: Kadija Ouadi
kadija.ouadi@paris.fr

Patrons

  • Endowment Fund for the Ateliers de Paris
  • Federation of Women's Wear
  • ADC Beyond Leather
  • Galeries Lafayette
  • Rémy Cointreau Foundation
  • ESMOD
  • Roger Pradier
  • Victory
  • Galia
  • Plendi by VINCI Construction

Partners

  • Alliance France Design
  • Premiere Classe
  • Paris Design Week
  • Maison & Objet
  • Ipocamp
  • Intramuros
  • Fashion Network
  • AD
  • The Drouot Gazette
  • Eyes on Talents
  • Geste/s Magazine
  • The Good Goods
  • Process Magazine

Présentation du dispositif

Les Grands Prix de la Création distinguent deux professionnel.les du design, de la mode, des métiers d’art et un.e professionnel.le des accessoires de mode.

Le Grand Prix récompense un.e professionnel.le pour la qualité de son projet et de son parcours, sa stratégie de développement, son engagement dans la transmission des savoir-faire ou l’innovation. Ce prix s’adresse aux professionnel.les déjà expérimenté.es, aux entreprises et marques dont le développement est avancé.

Le Prix Talent émergent récompense un.e professionnel.le dont le projet est prometteur. Le prix est un encouragement.

Le nouveau Prix Accessoires de mode distingue, quant à lui, des projets d’accessoires émergents ou confirmés (maroquinerie, chaussures, gants, ceinture etc.).

Une dotation de 18 000 euros est attribuée aux lauréat.es. Chaque prix est doté de 8 000 euros par la Ville de Paris et enrichi via le Fonds pour les Ateliers de Paris par des partenaires privés : la Fédération Française du Prêt à Porter FémininADC – Au-Delà du Cuir, le Groupe Galeries Lafayette, la Fondation Rémy CointreauESMODPlendi by VINCI ConstructionRoger PradierVictoire, et le Groupe Galia.

Outre la dotation, les lauréat.es bénéficieront d’une visibilité offerte par les partenaires médias et associés : Premiere Classe, Paris Design Week, Maison&Objet, Alliance France Design, Ipocamp, Intramuros, Fashion Network, AD Magazine, La Gazette Drouot, The Good Goods, Gestes, Process Magazine, MODEM, Silhouette et Eyes on Talents.

Historique

Depuis toujours « Paris » est associé à la création. Il était donc naturel que la Capitale se dote d’une distinction saluant ce génie. C’est ainsi qu’en 1993 naissait le Grand Prix de la Création de la Ville de Paris, récompense annuelle pour un.e créateur.ice de talent.
À partir de 2003, le Prix s’étoffe et distingue alors trois catégories : design, mode et métiers d’art, et récompense, dans chacune d’entre elles, un.e professionnel.le dit talent émergent et un confirmé.

Depuis leur création, ce sont plus d’une centaine de lauréat.es qui ont été distingué.es par les Grands Prix de la Création de la Ville de Paris. Nombre d’entre elles et eux sont ou sont devenu.es des grands noms de ces secteurs à l’instar de Ronan Bouroullec, Inga Sempé ou plus récemment Ionna Vautrin et les 5.5 design studio pour le design ; Pietro Seminelli, Tzuri Gueta, Sophie Dalla Rosa, Simone Pheulpin pour l’artisanat d’art et Yiqing Yin, Christine Phung, Julien Fournié, Sakina M’Sa ou encore Valentine Gauthier pour la mode.

De grandes figures du design, de la mode et des métiers d’art ont, également, présidé le jury des Grands Prix : matali crasset, Mathias Kiss, Hubert Barrière, India Mahdavi, Julien Fournié et, en 2021, Amélie Pichard, Laura Gonzales et Sam Baron.

Les lauréat.es

Filtrer

Les président.es de jury 2022

Chaque année, les jurys sont présidés par 3 personnalités reconnues des métiers de la création.

FRANÇOIS AZAMBOURG- JURY DESIGN

Qu’attendez-vous des candidats au Grand Prix et au Prix Talent Émergent ?

Un investissement total sur les questions environnementales et/ou sociétales, des qualités plastiques et techniques.

Diplômé de l’ENSAAMA à Paris, lauréat de la Villa Médicis hors les murs en 2003, du Grand Prix du Design de Paris en 2004, du concours du Musée des Arts Décoratifs, et Créateur de l’année au Salon du Meuble-Paris en 2009, François Azambourg consacre son travail à l’alliance des techniques et de l’art propre aux arts appliqués. Son travail, porté essentiellement sur la recherche de la légèreté et de l’économie des matériaux, a donné naissance à de nombreux brevets et récompenses. Ses créations ont intégré les collections du FNAC, du Musée des Arts Décoratifs de Paris et du Centre Pompidou.

CHRISTINE PHUNG- JURY MODE

© Vincent Lappartient

Christine Phung est une créatrice de mode et directrice artistique française, collaboratrice de grands noms de la mode. Elle remporte le Grand Prix de la Création de la Ville de Paris en 2011 puis le prix « Premières Collections » de l’ANDAM en 2013. Ces tremplins lui ont permis de faire émerger son propre univers créatif aux formes géométriques, organiques ou architecturales et traversé par l’art du motif. À travers ses dessins et le regard singulier porté sur ce qui l’entoure, Christine Phung façonne sa vision de la mode : «rencontre parfaite entre de multiples savoir-faire» et des vêtements : «seconde peau choisie pour se présenter au monde». Une exigence vibrante de sensibilité.

Que vous évoquent les Grands Prix de la Création ? Les Grands Prix de la Création articulent toutes ces dimensions à la fois : l’enthousiasme et l’énergie liés à la découverte de nouveaux talents qui vont enrichir notre patrimoine artistique commun, le rayonnement des métiers d’art français… Ils sont le symbole d’une solidarité et d’une dynamique autour de la créativité, de l’artisanat, du savoir-faire. Ils mettent en lumière et animent une communauté de créateurs dont nous avons tous besoin !

LUDOVIC AVENEL – JURY MÉTIERS D’ART

Ludovic Avenel est né en 1984. Formé à l’école Boulle, il s’est fait connaitre dès la fin de ses études en 2007 par l’obtention du prix Bettencourt Schueller pour l’intelligence de la main.
Installé depuis 2008 dans le centre du faubourg Saint-Antoine à Paris, Ludovic Avenel associe créativité et savoir-faire pour créer des pièces uniques ou séries limitées de meubles destinées à une clientèle internationale. Entre une démarche artistique et une pratique des méthodologies du design, il s’inscrit dans une recherche permanente de la beauté sous toutes ses formes.

Que signifie pour vous la présidence des Grands Prix de la Création ? C’est un honneur et une responsabilité, c’est dans un esprit de bienveillance et d’harmonie que je serai heureux de partager ce moment avec les candidats et les membres du jury.

Appel à candidatures

L’appel à candidatures est ouvert chaque année, courant mars. Pour plus d’informations, abonnez-vous à notre newsletter.

  • Le concours est ouvert aux créateurs des secteurs du design, de la mode et des métiers d’art de plus de 18 ans ;
  • Le concours s’adresse à des entreprises.
  • Les candidats doivent exercer depuis au moins un an à la date d’inscription au concours : (date de création d’activité de l’entreprise ou de la marque – extrait Kbis ou k, extrait D1 pour les artisans faisant foi). 
  • L’activité professionnelle des candidats doit être enregistrée auprès des services fiscaux français.
  • Un candidat ne peut s’inscrire qu’à une seule des trois disciplines : design, mode, métiers d’art.
  • Sont exclus de toute participation les lauréats de précédentes éditions des Grands Prix de la Création ainsi que les candidats qui ont été lauréats d’un concours l’année qui précède.
  • Les candidats doivent présenter des pièces ou projets qui n’ont pas été récompensés lors d’un autre concours français ou international.

Les candidatures sont d’abord examinées par les membres du jury de l’année précédente, qui sélectionnent une dizaine de candidat.es dans chaque catégorie.

Les finalistes sont invités à venir présenter leur parcours et leurs œuvres lors d’une audition qui se dérouleront les 28 et 29 juin prochain devant un jury d’experts (acheteurs, éditeurs, galeristes, organisateurs de salons, institutions…) qui débattront et choisiront les lauréats.

La cérémonie de remise des prix se déroulera le 13 septembre 2022 à l’Hôtel de Ville de Paris.

Besoin d’informations complémentaires ?

Contact : Kadija Ouadi
kadija.ouadi@paris.fr

Mécènes

  • Fonds de Dotation pour les Ateliers de Paris
  • Fédération du Prêt à Porter Féminin
  • ADC Au Delà du Cuir
  • Galeries Lafayette
  • Fondation Rémy Cointreau
  • ESMOD
  • Roger Pradier
  • Victoire
  • Galia
  • Plendi by VINCI Construction

Partenaires

  • Alliance France Design
  • Premiere Classe
  • Paris Design Week
  • Maison & Objet
  • Ipocamp
  • Intramuros
  • Fashion Network
  • AD
  • La Gazette Drouot
  • Eyes on Talents
  • Geste/s Magazine
  • The Good Goods
  • Process Magazine
  • SILHOUETTE
  • Modem